Showing posts with label moulin rouge. Show all posts
Showing posts with label moulin rouge. Show all posts

Saturday, 18 December 2010

snow snow snow snow... SNOW ♥

well in case the title of todays post wasn't enough of a giveaway... yes it is indeed snowing ALL over the Isle of Man!

i couldn't make it to college yesterday so there was no HND xmas party for me this year!

the weird thing was, that yesterday there was basically NO snow up where i live (north of the island) yet the south and west of the island had come to a standstill due to the weather!

anyway, we all thought it would calm down overnight and in a way it did... then at 4am this morning it started to snow again

and it STILL hasn't stopped! :-O

now you see the problem...

THIS is what i woke up to!


now i normally LOVE the snow but to be honest i'm not so pleased about it's arrival this weekend for a few reasons

A: i'm supposed to be meeting my friend Charlotte in town today to exchange xmas prezzies + have a mooch around the shops for any last minute xmas bits... the snow has made this impossible!

B: my friends Mike and Kyren are supposed to be flying back to the island today... the airport is closed!

C: i spent at least an hour last night doing a sparkly, festively fun manicure (see below) and now i'm trapped in the house and have NO-ONE to show it off to... i want my friends to see my sparkly nails!


see... all sparkly! very Alexander McQueen i thought (slightly... maybe... a little bit) what with all the bright red and  gold going on

anyway it doesn't matter since nobody but the people that read my blog will get to see them!!!

i still roamed about in the snow though...




right well, it's frrrrrreeezing cold and snow is everywhere so here are some, well... A LOT of photos of my garden and the area where i live... enjoy






























aaaagggghhhh why snow.. why today?!

in fact, the weather is SO bad, not only has the airport been closed and ALL of the islands bus services been stopped, even the Groudle Glen Railway had to cancel todays Santa Trains!!!

what a shame! stupid snow, ruining everyone's festive fun...

END RANT

* * *

>>>Sewing/Embroidery UPDATE

so last night i sat and watched/listened to 'Moulin Rouge' and cracked on with a bit more embroidery


as you can see she's coming along quite nicely, with proper eyes and a mouth at last! next step is finishing off all the hair... and there's a lot of it!

anyway, i'll post a photo every time i've worked on it so you can see how it's progressing 

* * *

and that's just about it for today, i'm feeling rather bored what with being trapped in the house and all that so don't be too surprised if i end up posting again soon-ish

maybe not today, but almost definitely tomorrow


so wherever you are, have fun, if you're somewhere cold then wrap up warm and stay safe

and if you're somewhere warm... well, then you're very lucky!

that's all folks...

 ★ ◕‿◕ ★


muchas gracias y adios

(that's thank you and goodbye in Spanish on behalf of Argentina, another country i've sadly never visited, maybe one day i'll get to see it, gracias amigos ♥)

Thursday, 21 October 2010

Stars and Sparkles ★

so it's my 'crit' tomorrow afternoon at college. Crits are sort of like assessments only not as formal and often a lot scarier... however I'm not scared because i have to stand up and talk about my work to everyone, I'm scared about the lack of it!


don't get me wrong i have done SOME work this term... it just doesn't seem to be as much as what everyone else has done!


in light of this i have spent the past 2 days working my 'bum' off to finish another digital piece


and it's FINALLY done!!!


trust me, yesterday afternoon/evening i was just about ready to throw my macbook at the wall (i worked on it for 8-9 hours straight before giving up) because photoshop makes everything else run so SLOWLY (no snide 'mac' comments please Mike...) 


it was the same today but after another 9 (yes... NINE) hours working on it i think it really is finally finished


i'll no doubt hate it tomorrow and spend another few hours 'fixing' it but for now...


may i present the 'Midnight Burlesque Girl'



you'll have to click on her for a full view, well... 
for a fuller view since the actual file is about 3200x5120 at full size!

now you'll understand why photoshop was so FREAKIN SLOOOOW!

i guess she can be another Halloween themed Pin-up... maybe... perhaps, if you squint a lot!

nah maybe not! but  come on... she is a bit creepy looking, uber pale and all smokey eyed, she could pass as a vampire or something... right?!

she was also inspired a lot by Moulin Rouge

you see... she was supposed to be all colourful and happy and circus themed

but then i watched Moulin Rouge (about 3 times in a row) and this was the result

you've got to admit she has a definite 'Satine' vibe about her


and as always i 'tested' the image on Mike first...

he's my sounding board i guess, he always gives an honest answer and opinion about my artwork so he's a good pal to get feedback from

anyway if i remember correctly his response was something along the lines of...

'BABE... 

i would... 

nah its epic. 

colours work. background's not pixelated... some would say it was geniouse'

ahahaha, see... always an honest answer!

oh and that isn't a typo, 'geniouse' is a sort of joke in reference to another college dude called Meg (sorry i mean Chris. his name is actually Chris yet everyone calls him Meg... as in Meg Griffin off Family Guy... what can i say, it's a long story)

* * *

ok enough rambling about my friends, i'm sure that's not why you read my blog so apologies for that shred of normalcy!

 time for some tea and a bit of 'Mad Men' now

by the way... if you would like to be even more of a star (you're already a star because you're here reading this but there's always room to be even more of a super star) then pop over to my 'art wanted' account and help boost the views for this new 'Girl' - Midnight Burlesque Girl

cheers m'dears


that's all folks...

arrivederci mia amicas e amicos!

◕‿◕ ★ xX